Towns Online  
UK - France - Spain - Switzerland - Turkey

Image by Marta Crowe on Flickr

France > Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur or PACA is one of the 22 regions of France.

It is made up of:

the former French province of Provence
the former papal territory of Avignon, known as Comtat Venaissin
the former Sardinian-Piedmontese county of Nice, whose coastline is known in English as the French Riviera, and in French as the Côte d'Azur
the southeastern part of the former French province of Dauphiné, in the French Alps.
It encompasses six departments in south-eastern France, bounded to the east by the Italian border, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea and by the principality of Monaco, to the north by Rhône-Alpes, and to the west by Languedoc-Roussillon, with the Rhône river marking its westernmost border. The six departments are:

The region logo displays the coat of arms created in the 1990s and which combines the coats of arms of the old provinces making up Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur.

Economically the region is the third most important in France just behind Île-de-France and Rhône-Alpes. Its GDP in 2006 was € 130,178 million ($US 163,600 million) and per capita GDP was € 27,095 ($US 34,051).

Add as a favourite:


Search Local Hotels

Check-in date

Check-out date


Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Location

France Map


France Facts and Population

Area: 31,400 sq. km
Admin HQ: Marseille
4,818,000 (2008 est.)



Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Weather


© Towns-Online 1997-2010. Towns-Online is a Future Interactive company