Towns Online  
UK - France - Spain - Switzerland - Turkey

Image by Vandelizer on Flickr

Turkey > Marmara Region

The Marmara Region (Turkish: Marmara Bölgesi), with a surface area of 67.000 km², is the smallest but most densely populated of the seven geographical regions of Turkey. It represents approximately 8.6% of the Turkish national territory and about 30% of its population.

This region was officially put in existence after the Geography Congress of 1941 in Ankara and is geographically divided into four regional parts, or areas.

Its name derives from the Sea of Marmara, which itself is named for the island of Marmara, derived from the Greek μάρμαρον (marmaron) and that from μάρμαρος (marmaros), "crystalline rock", "shining stone", perhaps from the verb μαρμαίρω (marmairō), "to flash, sparkle, gleam".


Balıkesir Province
Bilecik Province
Bursa Province
Çanakkale Province
Edirne Province
İstanbul Province
Kırklareli Province
Kocaeli Province
Sakarya Province
Tekirdağ Province
Yalova Province

Add as a favourite:


Search Local Hotels

Check-in date

Check-out date


Marmara Region Location

Marmara Region Map




Marmara Region Weather


© Towns-Online 1997-2010. Towns-Online is a Future Interactive company